Skip to content

Easter in the Mountains

April 12, 2012

I have a lot of updating to do! We have officially moved to Atlanta. We have been here for almost 2 weeks now.  Feels like a life time and a blink at the same time.  Funny how that works.

We spent our first holiday away from home away from our new home. We traveled the two and a half hours to Tom’s family’s mountain house located in Highlands, North Carolina.  The last time we were there was in October when Rett was 10 months old and I got my first positive pregnancy test for Evie. So it’d been awhile.

Image

Image

My in laws are both excellent cooks.  This is Gigi (Stella) and Rett whipping up a lemon pistachio bunt cake.

Image

For the actual day, Tom’s dad made lamb chops.  I don’t believe I’ve had lamb chops before but they were delicious. Made with Guinness beer glaze, everyone raved about how good they were.  Stella made a lemon curd pistacchio ice cream sundae for dessert.. no pictures of that as I was too busy wolfing it down.

Image

The house is built on a golf course. This is literally right outside the front door.  Tom’s grandfather was an avid golfer as was his grandmother. His grandmother still spends most of her summer time up in Highlands.   Its so much cooler then Atlanta.  I’m planning some weekend trips to hit some hiking trails with the kids.

 

Image

And of course Easter baskets.  I bought so much stuff on clearance last year I just went shopping in my stash and still have enough for next year too.  I did pick up a couple things on clearance yesterday to stick in there but I think I’m basically done for a few Easters. I seriously had fun at clearance last year apparently. Rett’s favorite were his new trains and Evie loved her bubbles.

Image

 

Dying eggs was a lot of fun this year. Rett’s cousins came over to help.  Rett dyed most of them as Sissy just wanted to put them in her mouth and eat them.

 

Image

 

And of course, hunting.

 

Image

 

Image

Overall we had a great Easter. 

 

We have been busy getting everything arranged and ready for all the kids.  Took Thad and Rett to the new pediatrician.  Thad needed his 2 month shots and Rett needs a prescription for his speech. 

 

Rett’s speech therapist came yesterday to meet with us.  She will come to the house for his therapy sessions, which is awesome.  She was just talking to me about what he was working on previously and scoping out the house for a good work set up for them.  She seems really nice. I hope he responds to her like he did to Miss Racheal.  She said that he has a lot of good stuff gong for him.  He as good eye contact for never been worked with on that.  He already does substitute play (using his sharks for air planes) and good requesting in different ways.  He was a having a hard time taking turns with her and waiting but he has been really into airplanes lately so I think if it had been a different toy he might have done better. 

 

We are going to meet with the preschool I want him to attend next week to see if they will accept him without an aide and if he can be in the appropriate age class.  My friend Kayla’s mother in law runs the preschool so that has been a great contact. Now if I can just find the way to get there. 

 

Evie’s glasses have gotten lost over the move so I need to get new ones for her.  Also trying to sell our house back in Oklahoma AND figure out all the therapy stuff for Rett so a lot going on.  And in the middle of all of that, Thad is growing way too fast. He is 2 months old and weighs almost 13 lbs.  He is a great baby luckily because I don’t have a lot of extra time for him right now. He spends most of his days nursing and swinging. 

 

I have put in an application for a scholarship for Rett to receive a year of ABA therapy for free.  REALLY hoping we get that as it would be a great help for him. 

I am going to try to be better about blogging now that everything has semi calmed down.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

