Skip to content

Prep work!

August 2, 2012

We just got back from spending some time in the mountains.  The weather was awesome and the kids had a great time doing a lot of outdoor activities. We did hiking for the first time and was amazed at how well the children did. We didn’t always make it to the end of every trail but we were experimenting on how long their interest could withstand walking up mountains and how far they could go.  I also admit to being a little chicken and dreaded the thought of Rett asking me to carry him down while I was wearing Thad in the Ergo so I might have been pretty agreeable with starting down before the kids were really ready.  We also visited the fish hatchery in South Carolina.  Rett wanted to fish the trout out of the tanks.  Pretty easy fishing there, buddy!

 

Now that we’re back I am trying to catch up on prep work for starting preschool next week. On Monday and Tuesday I’m taking Evie for her autism eval at the Marcus Center so not much will get done on those days.

 

Here are a few things that I’m doing to get us ready for the school year:

 

Since we bought Rett’s iPAD for therapy, I’m using it in tot school for activity choice.  I downloaded this app: http://itunes.apple.com/cy/app/visual-schedule/id514492094?mt=8  after e mailing the man that made it.  This app lets me take pictures of all of our free play educational toys and put 5 or 6 of them in a list for the kids to choose after they do a more structured activity. Its like a virtual tot tray organizer! I don’t have room in the house to put out actual tot trays.  I can take pictures easily of any weekly themed activities and add them to the list. The kids don’t have to choose in order and it will check off the activities as they choose them.  I can also make two lists if they don’t want to do the same things at the same time.  Or if there are different things I want them to work on.

 

Another idea I’m working on is a morning notebook. I want to do calendar time but again.. I’m pressed for space. So I’m just doing print outs to hole punch and put in folders.  Here are my activities in their notebooks so far, 100’s chart laminated to practice counting everyday. Calendar for the months to color in weather for the day and go over days of the week/months of the year.  I will also try to print out one song/poem to go with our theme to do every morning.

 

Other then that, I’m laminating, cutting out and gathering up supplies to start our first week! Can’t believe summer is almost over.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Hatton permalink
    August 3, 2012 3:03 pm

    Wow, you all sure are keeping busy! I love the picture of the house in the mountains, looks like my type of home! 🙂

    I miss you all!

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

