Skip to content

Our Bug Week

August 24, 2012

This week we worked on I is for Insect.  I didn’t really feel like teaching on Wednesday.. so I didn’t. So we only had three days of tot school this week.  We’ll see if I feel like teaching again this afternoon.

So here’s what we did this week!

Image

More arranging by size.  They have mastered this and on some occasions act pretty much bored.  Other time they seem to enjoy how easy it is. Evie especially asks to do it ‘again, again.’

Image

Worked on four piece puzzles.  Evie had some difficulty maneuvering the pieces without having to ‘fit’ them into anything.  Rett is doing pretty well with them, especially after the first day.

Image  <– buy them for yourself

One of Evie’s favorite toys, her stacking blocks. I laughed when the ‘test’ for the ADOS was nesting four different sized cupcs. Her nesting blocks I believe have 10 sizes and she’s been nesting, stacking and side arranging them since she was 15 months old or so.  They keep her busy while I work with Rett on harder concepts.

Image

Rett had to dress for the week. My little bug expert.  ❤

Image

We’re pretty excited about block towers.

Image

On my quest to motivate Rett to learn his numbers, we played this game where we hide the bug and he has to guess what number the bug is under. I thought it sounded fun. Rett didn’t agree.  I finally got HIM to hide the bug but don’t think it taught a whole lot.   Maybe time to drag out the number puzzle. That seemed to work best previously.

Image

I have one child that would rather do anything besides coloring. And one child that would like to color all day.

Image

Rett came to me and asked for scissors so I set him up to do some scissor practice. I’ve decided the best way to learn is by doing. With me far away.  For some reason scissor practice really stresses me out.  I just congratulated him on the well cut dinosaurs and left it at that.

Image

My raggamuffin that loves to eat markers.

ImageImage

I know its a little hard to see but both kids are doing very well with tracing (or staying on the road as we call it). I don’t know if Evie is ahead and Rett is behind and they are just meeting somewhere in the middle. Or if Evie is on level and I just haven’t worked with Rett in that long but she is 100x better then he was at 2.5.  Going to start doing some prewriting practice that requires them to stop and change directions soon.

Image

I worked with same and different using some manipulatives. I had him hand me ‘same’ and hand me ‘different’. Yah he’s totally clueless.  I looked up the learning steps online and as far as I can tell he’s done all the pre requisites. He can sort by color, he can sort by shape, he can sort by shapes of different colors and colors but different shapes.  He’s really good at matching.  Its just tying the vocabulary to what he already knows.

Image  Buy the buggies here.

Some Montessori number work. I think I need to just start with 1-3 right now because this was pretty overwhelming for him.

Image

Image

We didn’t do much daily painting this week. I didn’t print out any do a dot pages.. don’t know how that happened.  Instead we painted with bugs. It was neat to see the different shapes they could ‘stamp’ by using different parts of the bugs.  They turned out really pretty. I’m more into doing this type of art stuff then crafts at this point since my kids are so young, the ‘craft’ ends up being mostly mommy made anyway.

In other great news, we hit our out of network deductible so Rett can start going to see Miss Amanda again. I took him today for his first appointment at her new office since she is no longer doing in home visits. Its quite a drive but she has lots of things to work with now since she isn’t having to haul everything to our house.  I left the kids at home so sat in on the session. Its so nice to be able to see how she works with him so that I can replicate some of what she is doing at home.

Hope everyone had a wonderful week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

