Skip to content

My 1 year Blogaversary

September 20, 2012

 

A year ago today I started my blog.  It began with delayed speech and quickly became panic as people started mentioning the A word.  One year later, this blog and its readers have seen me through early intervention, 2 diagnosis, a pregnancy, starting home school, a baby, a cross country move, two speech therapists, an OT therapists,  an ABA scholarship and therapy.  There have been a lot of highs and lows during this year. A lot of celebration for milestones met and fear for the unknown of my children’s future.

 

I just want to thank everyone who knows me or doesn’t know me that has read my blog and shared in Rett and Evie’s story.  This is more then just a blog. This is a record of our family’s journey through autism.  Its been a rocky journey so far.

 

I think about the scared person I was back at the beginning of this.  When we were overwhelmed with options and the uncertainty of what we were doing. As parents we all just want the best for our children. When faced with an issue with your child, sometimes its hard to know what is ‘best’. And no one seems to be able to tell you, you have to decide for your self.   I am not that person anymore.  I have educated myself. I have talked to other parents. We have tried different approaches.  I was tossed into this ocean but I’ve got a good momentum down now.   Even hearing that I’m now dealing with two diagnosis didn’t phase me like the first one did.  Because we had a head start on deciding what she needs.

 

I can’t imagine where I or my children will be on our two year anniversary, a year from now.   I hope we will make some awesome strides and tap into wonderful resources for both of our special kids.  And of course Thad will be running around joining in the chaos that is our life. Thank you for making the decision to stick with me for this year.  The support I’ve gotten from my blog has at times been my lifeline to sanity.  Here’s to another wonderful year of growing for all of us!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Hatton permalink
    September 20, 2012 3:11 pm

    Wow, a year already! You are such a strong and wonderful mother! I love reading your blogs to see what you all are doing. Your children are so blessed to have and are so precious!

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

