Skip to content

A Lesson from MOPS

October 11, 2012

The lesson that was taught at MOPS last week (if you don’t know what MOPS is, go look it up and see if there is one in your area, its really cool!) really resonated with me.  It was taught by another lady so I can’t take credit for any of the lesson itself.

 

She started with the story from Matthew I believe where Jesus was meeting with his disciples and the army was approaching to arrest him.  2,000 soldiers were marching and Jesus stepped forward to meet them.  He stepped forward knowing what would happen. He didn’t run away even though he could. He didn’t hide. He stepped forward.  He then asked ‘Who is it that you’re looking for?’ and when the soldier answered ‘Jesus of Nazareth’ he answered ‘I Am’ and the entire army fell down from the word of the Lord.  I think about how Jesus met his adversaries head on and with merely a word, all those against him fell.

 

The lady talked about how its when we are our weakest that we need to call on the Lord because he is an I Am God.  When we don’t know if we can be the best parent or make the wisest decisions, He is there to help us make the stretch.   He doesn’t run from the hard things.  And neither should we.

 

I have been tested a lot as a parent.  I question our decisions and choices on a daily basis.  I cannot see the future or where my children will be 20 years from now.  I don’t know if I’m doing enough to help them reach their full potential. I’m doing what I can.  How do I know if its enough?  I don’t know if I’m enough for this job, but the Lord answers ‘I Am’.   I do feel that decisions that I have made for my children I have been led to make and I see so many things ‘fall into place’ which were really the plans of God to help me.

 

 

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray

– SIDEWALK PROFITS ‘The Words I Would Say’

I’m at another crossroads where I need to make some decisions. Decisions for Rett and decisions for Evie.  And right now I don’t know if I can make the best choices and I’m looking around. And when I ask ‘Who is the most knowledgeable and best equipped to answer what I should do?’ the Lord answers me ‘I Am.’   So I’m ignoring a lot of people right now and following my heart. Because so far, that little voice has been doing a great job.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

