Skip to content

What a day

November 19, 2012

Image

 

Well it was quite a day.  It started with me returning my deeming waiver voice mail and finding out we were denied.  For about a million reasons.  Some of them being my pediatrician marked that Rett didn’t need therapy.  Rett’s adaptive questionnaire that we filled out when he was 2 was too high.  Miss Rachael put that Rett’s outlook for improving in the future was ‘excellent’ and nobody said that he needed 5 days of therapy.  Crap.  Oh and my file was ‘thin’.  I’m working on the thin part by downing all my pumpkin cheesecake cookies from Target. If you haven’t tried them yet, you really should. They are yummy.  Don’t get the gingerbread, they taste like crap.

 

 So I called a lady who makes money filling this form out for people (she charges $450 to fill it out for you.. that’s how much work this is. People would rather pay that then do this). She told me I need to schedule another psychologist appointment which will cost me $350.  And I need to do another speech eval which is another $300 and then I better let her look it over which is $150.  Our speech eval was done last January and insurance only pays for one a year so we can’t take advantage of the fact we hit deductible. Of course. What other option do I have? The public school is not going to give him the therapy he needs. We’re probably looking at 30 minutes or 1 hour of group therapy a week.  Or we can continue to pay out of pocket.  That topped 5,000 last year.  I feel like I’m back to 0 after all the work I put into it. 

Image

I took Thad to his 9 month appointment.  He gained 1 pound from last time. So the doctor wants me to stop feeding him at night.  His height and weight are both relatively the same percent though. He was 28 inches long and 19lbs 2 ounces. And his hemoglobin was low so I have to start feeding him more foods with iron. He didn’t cry when he got his blood drawn.  He really needs to start crying and stop freaking me out.  However, he is clapping and finally got around to saying ‘da-da’.

 

Image

 

Then when we got back, Evie dropped the iPAD on the concrete and shattered a corner. 

 

So I think that just about concludes my day!  Luckily, the iPAD is still working and doesn’t seem to have been affected really. With the case on, you can’t even see the shatter.  Evie + iPAD + cement = disaster. 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cecilee Hayes permalink
    November 19, 2012 10:39 pm

    Oh, Laura, I’m so sorry. Seem like for every step forward there are two back. You worked so hard filling out all the forms, But the worse is the destroying of your hope. Wish I could step out of the iPad and give you a hug.

  2. November 20, 2012 2:19 pm

    I’m sorry you are facing these roadblocks! Why do they make it so HARD for parents just trying to do everything they can for their kids?? I hope this all gets settled soon for you!

  3. Ann permalink
    November 20, 2012 3:18 pm

    Wow, that sounds like a very crazy day! Time for some wine and a nice bubble bath! 🙂 Love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

