Skip to content

Project 52- Week 1

January 5, 2013

project52week1

Every new year brings about all these people who are signing up for all sorts of crazy things. Weight loss, couch to 5k challenges, changing up their diet.  A  new year is such a great thing. Why can’t we hold onto that ‘start over’ feeling throughout the year?  I have no idea. The same reason we can’t hold onto the magic of Christmas Eve every night, I suppose.  Certain magic for a certain season.  I have tried.. and failed.. to maintain photo projects basically every year.   I can tell you all the reasons (ie. excuses) that this has happened.  This year I’m going to start again.. just lump me in with the crazies.   But I’m doing it differently.

Photography for me is fun.  I like it.  I enjoy looking at things differently, challenging myself to be better and sharing the world through my eyes. I’m not the best photographer.  I’m not as good as I’d like to be and I probably will never be.  I’ve got just enough talent. But its what I have, I can’t do better than my best.  So I’m going to continue this project until I get bored or it turns into a chore rather than fun or it just doesn’t suit me anymore.  And I won’t feel guilty about it.   I’ll feel proud that I started and got done whatever amount I got done.   Guilt stops me from trying sometimes because in the past I’ve failed.  Who is really going to care if I don’t take a photo every week for a specific theme?  Nobody.

I’m participating in two different projects.  This is the Project 52: This Is Our Life hosted by Paint the Moon Actions.  She takes absolutely stunning photos of her absolutely beautiful children and has wonderful actions.  This was processed with her Coffeehouse Creamy Java.    You can find all the details on her blog. Its just gotten started, join in if you suits you.  There is a flickr group and all that fun inspirational stuff.

The second project I’m participating in is the 365 Instagram Challenge hosted by Fat Mum Slim.  When you post a photo on instagram, if you’d like to participate in the daily themes, just do #fmsphotoaday  Its fun to look over other people’s photos and start following other interesting photographers from around the world. Is it not amazing what people can do with a phone cam? Just amazing.

And if you tell yourself, I could never keep up with this.  I could never do this. This is too much.   Then just own that!  Do however much is FUN! Bored?  Go look up that day’s topic.  Have a rough day? feel free to skip.  Who really cares? And if it inspires you to take just one photo. To push yourself one inch with your photography. To capture one second of this beautiful trip around the sun, then that is enough.  You did good. You did good.

This year is going to be less about beating myself up and more about BUILDING myself up.  I hope you can do the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

