Skip to content

Good news!

January 9, 2013

post6

I know Who goes before me

I know Who stands behind

The God of angel armies

Is always on my side

The One who reigns forever

He is a Friend of mine

The God of angel armies

Is always by my side

– Chris Tomlin ‘Whom Shall I Fear’

  We are starting the year off right!  I just received our Easter Seals acceptance letter.  This scholarship will give us $2600 towards therapy costs which should at least get us to deductible. Along with our 2,000 we put into our health fund and some generous Christmas gifts, I think we should be fine with Rett’s therapy for the year.   This might mean I can finally sign up Rett and Evie for swim lessons at the Y!  They have a really awesome special needs one on one swim class that lasts an entire hour but you have to pay the monthly fee plus the fee for the class so its pretty pricey.

The house in Oklahoma had inspections done today.  The bank approved our short sale and everything seems to be cruising along. As long as nothing horribly scary was found during inspections, we should be ok!

Today was Rett’s yearly speech eval with Miss Amanda. I thought he did very well. He always impresses me with how much he knows.  I could really tell that ABA was working.  He answered probably 25 questions before finally requesting to play with the trains that he was working towards.  She got almost the entire evaluation done and said he was the poster child for how to do the assessments.   He did get some things wrong, and she also is trying to score him very harshly so that if I end up going for Katie Beckett again, we have a chance to get accepted.  We need to one more small portion next week so not sure when we will have results.  He seemed to do very well.

This week he has mastered asking ‘Can I’ spontaneously, so now of course we are working on something new.  You never get to just be excited about what he’s dong for awhile, its always now on to the next thing. So now we’re working on ‘Will you’.

I was really happy about his comments regarding the pictures during his assessment.  He did have a few off the wall comments. I think he was trying to reenact story time with daddy or something. He definitely was going somewhere with it but nobody else knew and he can’t explain.  But mostly he had a few things to say about each picture. Nothing all that deep but he made the correct animal sound or acted out the action or something.  His speech and eye contact have been so amazing lately! I’m not sure if its ABA, speech or just growing up.  But its nice to hear everyone making comments on how well he’s doing.

I can’t wait to see what this years holds and look forward to next January when I look back at these posts and think ‘wow he was JUST mastering XYZ then?! Look how far he’s come’.   If a door closes for him, I will find the key or the window or I will dig a hole and tunnel under.   I will fight for this child because we believe in him.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2013 8:12 pm

    Awesome!!! I am happy for you all! I especially loved your last paragraph, about looking back in the future to see how far he has come. You are a fantastic mommy.

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

