Skip to content

Things I know

February 5, 2013

post2

Today I went to Old Navy to return a dress I wanted to love. But I just didn’t.  And while I was there I got a few things.  Its good clearance, go check it out.  On my way to Target, I stopped off at Baby Gap to see if they were also having good clearance. Baby Gap is my first love.  They weren’t.  I was still on a high from my awesome steals from Old Navy and feeling pretty good, even the lack of clearance items didn’t get me down.

I overheard another customer who was in line checking out.  She had a little, ADORABLE boy with her.  They were getting him a new tie.  The cashier asked him where he would wear his tie and he said ‘to church’.  Then his mom prompted him ‘tell her where you go to church’.  And he answered.  Then he said that this tie looked a lot like his Pawpi’s.  And that his Pawpi had pants that matched.  They ooed and awwed over that little boy.  And browsing through bright colored skirts, I snuck peaks and smiled along at their conversation because he was just too cute.  And then the cashier asked him ‘how old are you?’ and he answered at the next beat ‘4!’  And my eyes teared up. And I left.  Because that should have been my boy.

I KNOW in my head that each child is on their own path and everyone has to celebrate their kid where they are and not compare. I know that.  I know that I should be THANKFUL for how well he’s doing.  He can ride a bike with training wheels, he knows all his letters and letter sounds, he can count to 20, he can quote Special Agent Oso, wash his hands by himself and put on his own shoes.  I KNOW.  And yet… it still kills me.  Maybe this is why I don’t want to ever leave the house. Because its sure as hell a lot easier KNOWING all this when I’m just here with them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2013 10:28 pm

    Oh girl, I totally feel you. I know that I shouldn’t compare my kids to other kids their age, or even younger, but it’s so hard not to. It is natural, even if it’s not really healthy or helpful. It just gets me when my friends talk about funny conversations they had with their kids, or something they did that is totally age-appropriate, but my that kid is unable to do yet. It’s so frustrating, because while my brain knows that my kid is starting to read when their kid doesn’t even know his ABC’s, my heart hurts because my kid can’t even call me Mommy, much less carry on a conversation.

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

