Skip to content

The Day the Circus Came to Town

February 22, 2013

post2

 

A while back when Tom’s parents were in town, he was talking to his mom about how we had something to do on the 21st. I heard it, my brain processed it, I gave him a funny look and then I forgot.  I think my brain continued to work that one out.  A few days ago, Tom reminded me that we had something to do on the 21st as a family and that it was a surprised.  I smiled and said ‘Are we going to the circus?’  I really think my brain had been working out the mystery all along behind the scenes.  Leave it to me to ruin a great surprise. But it was still great.

We went out to dinner with a friend and her family and a few of their friends.  It was pretty much a circus right there.  There was a birthday celebration next to us that included balloons and a cake. Amidst 9 children and a pitcher of margaritas, what we really need needed was a mariachi band. Which showed up just in the nick of time.  My music loving children exclaimed over trumpets and guitars and violins and I reveled in their intelligence and enthusiasm.  Evie was so excited over the whole ordeal that as we walked back to the car to head over she said ‘Did you have fun at the circus? Its time to go home and play iPAD.’  For her, the music and balloons and loud, fun atmosphere had been enough.   She was satisfied.  It made me happy.  Because these moments for me, the ones where my children live in their blissful bubble of expecting nothing and appreciating everything, makes doing these things that much better to me.  She had no idea.  Until she did.

post3

 

And of course this guy was a circus champ.  First circus at 1 year old, he stayed up till 10:30.  The only times he was fussy was when he got bored, spotted me and made mad lungs to get to me.

post4

post5

post6

post7

post8

post9

 

post10

 

Because being 20 feet up in the air isn’t scary enough, we must have people that do this by dangling by their hair.

post11

 

Of course this was the best show in the house.  Watching it all through their eyes.  Rett thought the entire thing was extremely amazing.  And the clowns were hilarious.

post12

 

Just to prove my daughter was there in the elephant shirt we happened to own for just such a surprise occasion. She sat next to me and it was really too close for my camera to take pictures of her.

 

post14

 

The entire circus was dragon themed and at the very end when they brought out the mechanical dragon, I think my children thought it was the real thing.

post13

 

I still remember going to my first circus when I was 5 or 6. I wonder if these memories will become permanently tucked in there to be brought out at times to reminisce.  I wonder what parts spoke to them.  To me the circus is such an over the top, overwhelming sensory experience full of fun and illusion.   It was a good night.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

