Skip to content

Autism Awareness Photo Sessions

April 14, 2013

I understand what it is to parent a child on the spectrum.  I do not have autism, therefore I can never truly know what its like to live it.   I decided for April that my contribution would be to offer out photo sessions within my yahoo group for any families who have children living with autism that wanted to come down to my part of town and let me give my big camera a work out.  And they signed up.  And they showed up.  And they shared their stories, their lives, their children with me for an hour.  And I saw myself there in the thick of it with them.  We are the ones in the trenches.  Fighting the battle, finding our way between awareness and acceptance and just trying to do right by our kids.   A picture is worth a thousand words. So I’ll just shut up now.

Image

Image

 

 

Image

Image

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

I’m going to try to do free photo sessions more often than just April. Hearing so many stories of families not having any photos of their family were just heartbreaking to me.  If you live in the Atlanta area and would like to get on my mailing list when I host my next sessions, please e mail me at lauraleahayes at yahoo dot com.   I loved meeting all the families and hope to keep in touch!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cecilee Hayes permalink
    April 15, 2013 1:51 am

    Laura- these are great. They make me want to meet all of them.

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

