Skip to content

Thad’s 15 month Sibling Study visit

June 5, 2013

pic21

 

Not a lot to report for Thad’s 15 month visit. I had e mailed her about some of my concerns and if there was a screening or something that could be done and she said she would have their lead clinician come in and speak with me before the meeting.  That lady came in, listened to my concerns, politely nodded and said BUT.  And I’m thinking.. seriously. SERIOUSLY. people. We are still here?  With the ‘but he waves/points/talks/smiles/interacts’.  And I say YAH SO DID MY OTHER TWO. And they smile, nod and think I am a nut case because there’s no way possible my other two seemed perfectly fine. I just never noticed. I’m not the clinician.  Then I think maybe I should be.  Stop focusing on the can’ts and start focusing on the extra signs that we mothers are seeing. I’m not making this stuff up.  Maybe he’s not but the stuff I’m saying is real.  So for his 18 month appointment the speech person will eval him, which she was going to do anyway. You can’t fool the mama.  We keep tabs on all these evals and pretending you are doing more by giving me the exact same thing I was getting in the first place isn’t going to make me feel better.  But oh well. What can I say to free service right?

 

So Thad went on and did his eye tracking like a champ. This time I had to get in a room and talk to him.

 

Sibling study eye tracking portion #marcusautismcenter #sothisisautism #siblingstudy

A post shared by Laura Martin (@lauralea1018) on

 

I took this picture. Ok its a bad one. Sorry.  This is what the eye tracking techs are looking at while this is all going on. There’s a screen of what he’s watching.  A screen of a very zoomed in view of his eye which they do something with the computer to tell it how to track his eye movements.  And then a screen that shows you what he’s looking at.  And a bunch of stuff I don’t know what it is.

 

Our 18 month appointment is in August, which seems so soon!

 

But we’ll be back sooner than that. Because Evie has her re-eval next week.  And if you wonder why I’m a nervous, stressed out, emotional wreck this week, wonder no more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

