Skip to content

A Place to Call Our Home

June 6, 2013

View from house number two

A post shared by Laura Bailey (@lauralea1018) on

 

We are currently house hunting.  House hunting when your children have special needs adds in a lot of complications.  How close are we to therapy?  What types of family support will we have here? How far away are lessons?  What about for the long run, will we have access to career or independent living supports? There is so much more than ‘do I like the kitchen’.

 

There is an area of Georgia that has an amazing school system (not that I care but its good for resale), an incredible autism and home school support system. But I just don’t like the houses there. The yards are small.  And they are expensive.

 

That view is from house #2 which I’m completely in love with.  Its in the middle of no where and in a  completely inappropriate for us to live.   Its time like these that I wish the autism away.  I want to embrace it and love it like so many other moms.  But I see so many ways that we have to change our lives in order to suit autism and sometimes it just seriously pisses me off.

 

I don’t understand why God would bring the perfect house (literally its perfect) and put it in a place where we can not live.  I don’t know what that means.  Well I sort of do. Stop making all the plans and listen to the people He’s put in my path to guide me.  Our diagnosing doctor told us about the great area 2 years ago now and since then our goal has been to move there.  So I have to get over small yards.  I’m trying.  Its hard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

