Skip to content

Review on Apple, pecan, chicken salad

June 11, 2013

pic2circus

 

I’m not much of a food photographer. Sorry about that.  I’ve been meaning to do reviews per meal and take photos when I make them but yah.. never happened. Let’s see how it goes this month.

Here’s the original recipe.

So yesterday was day 1 of our new once a month meal plan.  Previously we had cooked a chicken in the big green egg and got all the meat off and put it in a  zip lock.  I used probably 90% of the chicken in the salad/for the kids because I wanted the salad to be filling.

 

Instead of toasted pecans I got glazed because that’s all there was.  And Tom accidentally bought dried cherries instead of cranberries.  I’ve been addicted to these salads at Wendy’s so was happy to have this (much cheaper) version at home.  We both thought it was delicious and filling!

 

pic12

The kids had a more ‘open face’ salad option in their Bentos. And I didn’t make a veggie. Go me. Mostly they ate bread and apples.  Rett ate all his chicken in bribery for birthday cake and then was too full to eat birthday cake, score 1 for the parents!  Evie ate a few bites of chicken and decided it wasn’t worth birthday cake and retreated upstairs.  Baby brother couldn’t eat the pecans so he got peanut butter crackers and he couldn’t really eat the cherries though he tried.  Not a very successful kid meal but not the worst either.

 

I didn’t put the dressing on because I assumed we’d have leftovers (we did) and didn’t want the salad to get totally gross. It was a pretty good start to our month!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda Yeager permalink
    June 11, 2013 7:18 pm

    I LOVE dried cherries. I chop ’em up and put them in my oatmeal cookies instead of raisins.

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

