Skip to content

The Mystery of Evie

June 13, 2013

pic1

 

I went to bed last night thinking of how wonderful it was that Evie wasn’t considered autistic anymore.  Such a weight off to only have to worry about Rett.  I had a great night’s sleep and woke up on my own without being awaken by kids because I was actually rested.  It was wonderful.

 

And then in the light of a new day I think, crap… it isn’t autism, what is it?  And now without a diagnosis her opportunities to get therapy is severely decreased.

 

You can read Evie’s autism signs here.  I went back and read them this morning to remind myself why my mama gut had led me to worry in the first place.  Thad turned 16 months yesterday.  Evie was writing letters at this point.  This boggles my mind. Thad is still such a baby.  When I read back and remind myself of everything Evie was doing at this point, you just know something wasn’t exactly normal.  And maybe its just the mystery of a gifted child.

 

As Evie has gotten older and her language has increased, her autism signs have decreased.  She has almost no script speech anymore.  Her eye contact is a lot better.  Her hand flapping has went down. She’s still putting things in her mouth a lot more then I would consider normal but its decreased a lot too.

 

One strange thing when I was watching her eye tracking this time.  Last time I could almost guess she was going to get an autism diagnosis just watching her eye tracking. The movie has a woman talking to her and then something moving around in the background.  She was almost entirely focused on the moving object or the person’s mouth.  Very rarely looking at their eyes.  This time she was very focused on the person’s eyes and she might glance over at the moving object but went right back to the person.  I do believe that her eye issue really affected not only her eye contact but her relating to people in general.

 

Really at the end of the day Evie is the same little girl this morning that she was yesterday.  And everything we were working on before we have to continue to work on.  I’m just hoping that taking away her diagnosis doesn’t end up doing more harm than good in the long run.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenna permalink
    June 13, 2013 1:20 pm

    Hi Laura!
    Here’s a couple of FB groups you might want to join. Each kiddo is unique, but they have some cool links and discussions:
    Hoagies Gifted Education Page
    Supporting Gifted Learners

  2. June 13, 2013 5:18 pm

    What a dilemma!

    I am very happy for yout that she lost her diagnosis, and I think with time, you will get a clearer picture on where she falls on the “human” spectrum. I’ve read about Einstein Syndrome, do you think it may apply to her? It’s not a “real” syndrome, but it describes children who are exceptionally intelligent and gifted, but sometimes come across as having autistic qualities even if they do not have autism. I don’t know much about that, but I do know your Evie is incredibly smart!

    In any case, she has a Mom who is on top of her game, and I’m sure she has an amazing future ahead of her!

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

