Skip to content

Social Skills Camp

August 5, 2013

A post shared by Laura Martin (@lauralea1018) on

 

I’m playing catch up a bit this week!  Rett participated in a social skills camp the week after VBS this year.

I went online and searched but most of the camps we had already missed, this was the last one of the season. the Roswell Friendship Camp.  So pretty much knowing nothing about it, I signed Rett up and paid my $300 for him to go from 9:30-3 everyday for a week.   I was a little nervous because the camp seemed to be geared towards Asperger children and I was worried that Rett might be too far behind verbally to really get much out of it.

 

I think overall the camp was a good experience.  Rett fit right in verbally with the other kids.  I didn’t like that they lacked a daily schedule.  Rett (and I’m sure most of the other children) have recall issues so knowing some of the things they did so you can prod for information is VERY helpful!  Also they decided to do the splash pad down the road and sort of sprung it on me one afternoon. They were taking all the children in some sort of park and rec van.  Rett is no where near the legal height/weight requirement of being in a normal adult seat belt. I had to go buy a booster seat because he’s still in a 5 point harness in the car.  That seemed to work out. Then the next day, they went again but didn’t bother telling me so I didn’t give them his booster.  It was fine.. but if it hadn’t been fine it REALLY wouldn’t have been fine.   There’s no way a seat belt is going to keep my tiny 35lb guy from being thrown from a vehicle.  I also felt like that was probably a huge hunk of time getting the kids into the van, driving to the splash pad and knowing my child, there was NOT a lot of socializing going on at the splash pad.

 

I will say that after the camp I noticed a huge spike in name recognition and interest in other kids. When I went in to get him from swim one day he said ‘Hey mom, look its Nick!’ which is the other little boy in his swim class.   I was really excited about that!  Otherwise, since I don’t know the schedule and they didn’t have a list of things they were targeting, I honestly have no idea if it was worth it or not.   It was nice to take him to a day camp and have a semi-typical summer experience though.  Not sure we’d do this again next year, I think they definitely have some improvements they could make.  But Rett was happy to go everyday, worn out and tired at the end of the day and to me, that’s what matters.   That he had a good time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

