Skip to content

Family Reunion

September 18, 2013

I need to get caught up on my blogging!  I went back to August pics to see what I had missed and I literally had about 30 pics in there, all of Thad.   Not my best month of capturing the memories.

 

We drove back home to visit my family for my family reunion at the end of August.  We haven’t had a reunion for a few years due to my uncle building their new house.  Well the house looked awesome and fun was had by all. I think we counted 17 kids total.  There was a lag for a bit where we had all grown up but not had kids yet and the pool was pretty much empty but we’ve managed to fill it up again.

 

fr1

 

fr2

 

Evie helped Rett get over his fear of jumping in.

 

fr3

 

The cousins tried to teach Rett how to play Apples to Apples kid version. I didn’t witness it but I’m sure it was pretty hilarious.

 

fr4

 

The kids loaded up on summer treats.  Ice cream, watermelon, shaved ice and orange soda.

 

fr5

My cousin Tyson was nice enough to bring his TV over and set it up outside so the kids could watch a movie under the stars with popcorn. And bug spray for all the mosquitoes.  I think almost all the kids eventually wandered off but my two stuck through the entire movie.  True critics.

 

fr6

 

 

My nephew Jordan is so good with the kids. I think he was in the pool pretty much the entire first day hanging out and playing with all the little ones.

 

fr7

 

Thad came prepared.

 

fr8

 

Evie has been working all summer to get more comfortable in the water. Its still a process.  She does not like having her floatie taken off because she’s afraid to ‘go under’.  We had her on the pool noodle swimming around and maybe it did help because since we’ve been home she has been excited for her swim lessons and hasn’t cried at all.

 

fr10

 

The kids loved seeing my niece Kearston.  Evie still says she’s her best friend.  She put one of her new hair clips in her hair and said she looked like a Kearston girl.

 

fr9

 

And of course a little football.  That’s my all star right there.

 

It was so great seeing everyone again. It had been quite awhile since I saw some of my family.  The best part was just not having to worry about the kids every two seconds. Everyone ‘got’ Rett and I could let him play with his cousins without worrying about how anyone was responding to him or feeling like I had to protect him at all times.  That’s the greatest thing about family, they just love you.    We had a few pregnant mamas and I’m so excited to see the new babies next year.   Next September can’t come fast enough.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 5:30 pm

    Looks like an awesome time!!

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

