Skip to content

The power of ranch

March 7, 2014

 

I’ve had a pretty hard week. I don’t want to say bad week but it was approaching that.  I got Evie’s Katie Beckett denial letter because I faxed her speech notes one week late. So I had to take the papers back over to the pediatrician and then go pick them back up and drive them across town to drop them off since I do not trust the mail to get anything over there.

I had lots of appointments and errands and we are trying to iron out the final details on our new house contract so we can start proceeding with it.  There were a lot of responsibilities on my plate and a lot of things that I wasn’t in complete control of that I had to just wait for it all to fall in place.  I took Rett to his first OT appointment yesterday, except it really doesn’t start till next week.  It took me an hour to locate the office and then I waited 20 minutes because they didn’t notice I was there.  Fun times.

When it came time to cook dinner, I wasn’t really feeling it so we ordered pizza and hot wings.  And the pizza guy didn’t bring my ranch dressing. Which put me over the edge and I had a mini meltdown.  When I want wings, I want ranch, that’s just how it is.

 

Sometimes I get lost in the miles of of things I need to do.  People to call, information to gather, things to deliver, appointments to be made, decisions, responsibility, responsibility, responsibility.  And I forget about trying a new, fun Mexican place with my friend Kristi (the sweetie pie that used to be Rett’s ABA therapist) or introducing two fabulous autism moms and having dinner out AGAIN for the second time in a week AND doing my make up.  I forget about the blessings of converse and natives at goodwill.  And getting rid of so much clutter at consignment.  And my week becomes wasting a lot of time and frustration going to an appointment I didn’t even have to get to and my lack of ranch.

But yesterday God reminded me.  I went to get all the McDonald’s trash out of the car. I went by McDonald’s for lunch since Rett went straight from speech to his un-scheduled OT appointment. Rett always gets nuggets and I never order sauce since he likes them plain. And inside his happy meal was a sauce packet.  It was creamy ranch.

 

Sometimes its those ‘mistakes’ and those stressful situations that lead us to where God can provide for the things that we need.  Because that little packet of ranch for my leftover wings brought me an immeasurable amount of peace and the feeling that our needs are being taken care of. Not in our own time, not in our desired way but through the trials and stumbling that is life.

 

This song is written by Amy Grant and it keeps coming on the radio and speaking to me at this time in our lives.

 

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

It isn’t all sunshine and rainbows.  But in the end, we will find our ranch packet when we least expect it.  Just keep your eyes open and watch for the hidden blessings He pours out on your life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2014 6:07 pm

    I love this. I love this more than I can ever express. We have been struggling a lot this past year, but I am starting to rely more on God like I used to and am beginning to come back to a place of peace.

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

