Skip to content

The Raising of Peter Pan

August 10, 2014

pic22

 

My best friend just went with her niece and nephew to Disney World and she told me that her nephew (who is somewhere between Evie and Rett’s age) told his mom that he knew it wasn’t REALLY Mickey. That it was a man in a costume.   And it was then I realized, I’m raising Peter Pan.

 

Peter: I want always to be a boy, and have fun.

Wendy: You say so, but I think it is your biggest pretend.

 

 

I believe Rett will think Santa is real until.. forever I suppose.   And that Cinderella at Disney is truly Cinderella.  It is not stupidity or ignorance, it is simply the true definition of innocence.   His mind doesn’t consider the possibility of Santa NOT being real.   He doesn’t understand calling people names.  Or being mean on purpose.  He doesn’t consider that someone wouldn’t want to be his friend and play with him.   His mind just doesn’t work that way.

 

Smee: Captain, the ice is melting, the sun is out, and the flowers are all in bloom…

Captain Hook: He’s back.

 

Rett is a precious thing.  He grows and grows and learns and learns but yet keeps the same innocence that he’s always had.  The other day Rett asked if he could go to school and learn to fly brooms.  He thinks I’m keeping him away from Hogwarts.

 

Story Narrator: But I was never to see Peter Pan again. Now I tell his story to my children and they will tell it to their children, and so it will go on – for all children grow up… Except one.

 

I don’t doubt that someday Rett will learn the truth.  There is no Santa.  People are mean just to be mean sometimes.   And Cinderella lives only in a story.  And when that day comes, my heart may break.  For how will he think of himself when he finds himself in such a world.  That doesn’t understand the beauty and value of pure innocence.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

