Skip to content

Updates for Evie

October 26, 2014

pic7

I’ve been a little busy moving so its been awhile since I blogged.  We hit deductible this year thanks to Lach’s delivery and Rett’s medical expenses so I decided to use this to my advantage and have Evie re-evaluated since it would be on the cheap.  I posted on the local Facebook page and got some references for who to take her to.  First I had an hour long discussion with the lady about what I was concerned about and what my goals were for the testing.  Then I brought Evie in and observed her get evaluated through a series of tests.

pic6

And Evie was re-diagnosed with autism.  I knew it was coming.  In the words of the evaluator, she’s in the grey area. She was diagnosed with PDD-NOS (just like Rett).  Her IQ scores were low average but her abilities were mid kindergarten which is another sign of processing issues.

pic4

At the same time, I had Evie evaluated for speech and OT at our new therapy clinic that accepts our insurance.  For speech, she is still on level.  I asked Miss Amanda, our long time and well loved SLP if at this point I should just stop getting her speech evaluated and she said yes. This is the fourth evaluation she’s had that says she’s on level. Even though to me her speech is still ‘off’, she has all the concepts there.  I’m hoping to find a social skills group for her to join to practice more conversational type speech.  OT said she had some things to work on so she’s been going there.

Through this whole process I keep hearing a lot of ‘inability to focus’, ‘is very distractable’ ‘couldn’t maintain attention’ ‘hyperactivity’ and I wonder if what we are seeing is just ADHD and a bit of sensory processing disorder vs autism.

At this point, I don’t care what they call it. I just want to know that I’m getting her the help she needs and not ignoring her because Rett requires so much more attention.  She’s having OT once a week (twice if there’s a cancellation) and we’ll see how that goes.  She loves going and enjoys the attention.  She also started going to gymnastics (first day they told me she is having difficulties staying on task).  So Evie continues to be a mystery. And beautiful. And smart. And we love her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

