Skip to content

Kindergarten Graduation

July 6, 2015

graduation3

Well we cheated a little bit since we STILL aren’t done with kinder but I was so excited that we were given the opportunity to participate in kinder graduation.  Nicole who leads the christian put this all together at her church and I am so thankful she did.  I love these sweet little faces.  And a glimpse into the future.

graduation2

I am so incredibly proud of how Rett did this year.  I optimistically set the bar high and believed that he could achieve what other kids did in kindergarten regardless of autism. But in the back of my mind I did worry that his auditory processing issues would come into play and reading may be beyond him and my expertise to overcome this challenge.  He far exceeded by expectations.  Things don’t always come easy for him but he pushed through.  At the beginning of reading when it was very hard, he would push through the tears to continue on trying.  He has grown so much this year and his love and interest in reading is continuing to grow and blossom.  I am so grateful for all the memories we made this year.

graduation1

And of course Evie.  She keeps us all on our toes  But her love of learning and curiosity add something so special to the classroom.  We were all amazed at how well (and fast) she learned to read and that little voice asking me everyday if we were going to do school, well how can you say no to that.  She’s really grown into a little kid this year completely leaving behind her toddler looks and maturing into a little girl.  Sometimes I look at her and I’m caught off guard by how big she is.  She has a creative spark and endless energy that adds so much to our lives.  I am so grateful for the memories we made this year.

graduation5

graduation4

Miss Nicole did a fabulous job organizing everything, including the children. As she gave them verbal directions, I sat on edge ready to go and translate for them or repeat but they just did what they were told to do like all the other kids.  They have both grown up so much.

graduation7graduation6graduation8

graduation9Our future graduate had to get in on the action. His favorite activity is dressing up so he couldn’t miss out.

graduation10

We had a really nice reception following and I gave the kids their kinder presents, each a book filled with easy readers with a little letter on the inside from me about how proud I am of them at the end of their kinder year.

We did it (almost, just a few more weeks!)! We completed our first year of school and the kids are doing marvelously.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Teaching Special Thinkers

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as a Mother...of Many

Just another WordPress.com site

Big me to healthy me

Just another WordPress.com site

Floortime Lite Mama

Just another WordPress.com site

Autism Family Circus

Just another WordPress.com site

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Life with the Duncan's

Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Coconuts

Just another WordPress.com site

1+1+1=1

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a Homeschooler

Just another WordPress.com site

A Life Less Typical

Just another WordPress.com site

Penelope Trunk Careers

Just another WordPress.com site

life with greyson + parker

Just another WordPress.com site

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Enjoying the Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Life in Color Photography

Just another WordPress.com site

